inspeeddownload.blogg.se

Where are mods on steam
Where are mods on steam






where are mods on steam

For smaller mods, let's say a new sword or armor, you likely would need to achieve a large volume of mods and sell those cheap and overall you could make a decent amount of revenue especially compared to the time investment. Previously, yes, they would get nothing, but as of now, it's tough to imagine anyone to be able to count on the Workshop revenue as something that they could live off of. Yes, Valve and Bethesda created the platform and tools inside of the game to allow mods to happen (which is why I think the split is fair), but the actual developer(s) of the mod may have spent a lot of their time and resources working on a mod. I think it's fair that there should be a split, but with Skyrim, I think the pendulum is not enough in favor of the developer of the mod, who were the ones to devote their time to build on their game. Publisher/developer education on appropriate revenue splits for mods. However, there are two tweaks which I would consider:

where are mods on steam

After all, it's the dream of many modders of total conversions at least, to be able to create enough interest where they one day can devote the massive amount of resources required to turn their mod into a full retail game, which is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination. I'm not completely sold on the current direction, but I believe your north star is true.

where are mods on steam

Now, I do think offering content creators the option to have the ability to create revenue for themselves is an extremely noble goal.

where are mods on steam

Also, I want to add that I'm viewing the workshop changes through the lens of my own experiences working on a total conversion mod. We even got to present our mod to Valve many years ago (2006-ish), and suffice to say, I would not be working in the games industry now if it wasn't for that opportunity and experience with Valve back then, so thank you to all of the team at Valve for everything over the years. I worked on Eternal-Silence, which was a HL2 space combat mod released many years ago.








Where are mods on steam